The “Queen of Soul” Aretha Franklin is among the 2020 inductees into the National Women’s Hall of Fame.

WZOZ logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

The pandemic has forced many events to be virtual and this year’s honorees will be part of a virtual induction ceremony help this evening at 7:30pm.

The virtual presentation is free but you’ll need to register HERE

(donations are encouraged but not necessary)

The National Women’s Hall of Fame Class of 2020 includes;

  • Aretha Franklin. Legendary singer songwriter activist
  • Barbara Rose John Powell, a pioneer in the Civil Rights movement for Black Americans.
  • Barbra Hillary, founder of the first multiracial magazine published by a Black Woman
  • Toni Morrison, the first Black Woman to become senior fiction editor for Random House publishing
  • Henrietta Lacks, who donated her HeLa cells which ultimately led to the development of the polio vaccine. Chemotherapy, and research in Parkinson’s disease.
  • Mary Church Terrell born during the civil war she was one of the most prominent activists of her time leading into the civil rights movement.

The National Women’s Hall of Fame is starting up a new series of virtual inductions that will posthumously honor women who have passed away before the NWHF was founded.

LOOK: Famous Historic Homes in Every State

More From WZOZ