The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch in effect until 9 p.m. tonight.

This alert includes 16 counties -- Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Otsego, schuler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins and Yates.

Specific cities mentioned are: Binghamton, Cooperstown, Corning, Cortland, Delhi, Elmira, Hazleton, Honesdale, Hornell, Ithaca, Milford, Monticello, Montrose, Norwich, Oneida, Oneonta, Owego, Penn Yan, Rome, Sayre, Scranton, Seneca Falls, Syracuse, Towanda, Tunkhannock, Utica, Walton and Watkins Glen.

These storms could produce damaging winds and hail. Residents are advised to remain inside during the storms and seek immediate shelter if caught out and to stay away from windows.